More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

In the contemporary era the number of students in foreign colleges is inclined. There are both merits and demerits which I shall discuss in the forthcoming paragraphs.

To start with, more and more learners prefer studying in foreign countries. The primary reason for this is the plethora of courses available there. To illustrate, the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) and Delhi University (DU) offers a variety of courses which might not be provided in other Institutes. Furthermore, the placement rates of such colleges are quite high that makes them more attractive to the international students. The secondary reason is financial aids which are provided in those colleges. For instance, inside the All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) the tuition fees is just 500 Indian Rupees and the hostel rent is 15 Indian Rupees which very cost effective.

Despite all the advantages there are some disadvantages as well. The foremost problem is the language and cultural barriers. In order to live in another nation one has to learn the native language of the people their. It is imperative to learn about, and be the part of that culture so as to be friend with others. This might be difficult for them as they are completely unfamiliar to it. Apart from that the person might gets home sicked after moving to another country. This may inoculate loneliness, anxiety, depression, and hypertension in that person which will affect the mental and physical health adversely.

To conclude, although there are some disadvantages of studying abroad but there are several benefits as well that impacts the future of learner. Hence, the benefits outweigh the demerits to a certain extent.