More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Some individuals argue that in today’s society, there is an increasing number of students who have opted for foreign colleges and universities for higher study. Despite some challenges associated with this trend, its overwhelming benefits far outweigh the negative effects.

On the one hand, there are two primary disadvantages of studying overseas. To begin with, most students have never lived on their own in another country without their parents’ support. This may lead to anxiety or stress when they realize that they will not have families or friends beside them in the foreseeable future. Furthermore, studying abroad is not cost-effective with several payments including tuition fees, home rental costs, and travel expenses. Therefore, those students who study in foreign universities have decided to engage in a part-time job, which can result in poor academic performance.

On the other hand, pursuing higher educational programs in different nations opens the door to job opportunities with better salaries and offered rewards than home country as graduate degrees from abroad might be more appreciated and receive better consideration, even if graduates choose to go back to their hometowns once they finish their academic journey. Hence, most families with good conditions want to direct their children to be more well-rounded and exposed to modernized education, especially when acquiring knowledge from foreign lecture halls is considered to be of higher value, and Vietnamese parents are no exception. Furthermore, residing overseas enables individuals to have great exposure to a different culture and acquaint foreigners, which is such a fascinating chance to learn by seeing our own culture through the eyes of somebody.

In conclusion, despite obvious mental and monetary disadvantages, the drawbacks are justified by the opportunities and experienced benefits.