More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

In recent years, young people from rich countries are spending a short period working for free such as teaching or developing accommodations in poorer countries. This trend can be explained by desire of younger generation to gain valuable practical experience, whereas poor communities recieve some support, the young volunteers benefit more overall.

To begin with, these days many young people join such programmes because thay want practical experience that cannot be achived in academy. By teaching children or helping with construction projects, they develop hard and soft skills for better CV and, as a result, their future career, becoming more competative. For instance, many modern organizations look for junior employees who already have some practical background.

The local communities benefit because they recieve free labour;however, these advantages are often temprorary, whereas young voluanteers gaing long-term results. Free work leads to relevant experience and gives a lot of opportunities for new specialists in the market. For example, young developers take part in program of reconstruction old districs in India, where they get new skills on the place, not only repiting theory. After a project, they can show their expertise to a potencial employers. This is why spending a short time doing unpaid work is popular among young ones.

In conclusion, younger population works for free in poorer countries in oder to recieve a critical experience for their career path. Despite the advantages for locals, volunteers benefit more because they obtain practical skills.