More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

There is a growing number of young people from rich countries coming to less developed countries to participate in voluntary projects. There are underlying reasons for this and both of these people gain equal benefits.

On the one hand, one idea in favour of voluntary works is that the young can increase employment rate due to their active role among community. In other words, not only do company recruiters look for social-conscious workers but also high-rated universities need this kind of youth, and being active in voluntary projects can become their advantage among other candidates in the future. For instance, if admissions officer has to choose between two school graduates into one free seat, certificates will be considered as vital factor, even though they may become game-changer for the candidate. As a result, acceptance rate of voluntary students becomes higher compared to those who don’t have them. If it were not for volunteer certificates, high school graduates applying for prestigious universities would be doomed to fail, even with high SAT score. Therefore, voluntary projects could be highly beneficial for the graduates.

On the other hand, communities who recieve help from the young people can benefit from this particular practice. The local community can have a chance to heighten social living standards, even though the impact of such a practice can be relatively small and, in most cases, temporary. Also it is incredibly cheap since accommodating does not cost much.

In conclusion, the young from first world countries move to underdeveloped ones to do unpaid work in order to gain new experience and have great resume. It seems that both volunteers and the area that receives help can gain some certain values.