More of a country's budget should be spent on defence rather than community services such as health and education.

In recent years, some people have argued that allocating more of nation’s budget on defence forces is better than investing in public services such as healthcare and education. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea because both healthcare and education plays a crucial in sustainable development of nation. This essay will present my perspectives and support it with relevant reasons.

On the one hand, achieving a high quality of life in society is difficult without strong national investment in healthcare. For instance, Thailand’s government introduced the “30-baht healthcare policy” which allows all citizens, regardless of income or social class to access medical treatment at low cost. This improves public healthcare and reduces inequality. In addition, investing in people through an efficient education system provides opportunities for the next generations. Children from poor families can attend school and acquire knowledge, which helps reduce poverty and leads to of a more educated and skilled workforce.

On the other hand, overspending a nation’s budget on the defence forces, especially, during times of peace, can limit resources for improving quality of life. Some military equipment, such as submarines or fighter jets, may not be necessary. In modern countries, global competition has become more focused on economic and innovation development than expanding military equipment.

In conclusion, although defence is important for national security, I believe that more financial resources should be allocated to health and education. These areas help build a stronger, more equal society and lead to sustainable national development.