Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Your essay should comprise a minimum of 250 words.

An increasing number of nations prioritize developing their economy to achieve a higher standard of living at the cost of losing culture values. At my point of view, the benefits of enhancing the country’s economy overperform the elimination of social values as some outdated habits must be eliminated for the country’s growth.

Firstly, in order to improve the living conditions of the country, the governments reveal measures enhancing the economy while accepting some traditions that prevent commercial activities from disappearing. A number of social values that have existed throughout the history impact the people’s awareness and their working habits as the result of the economic stagnation. Thus, the loss of social values which impact to the economic habits is necessary contribute to the higher national living standard. For example, Japan has completely eliminated their Lunar New Year which had been celebrated for centuries as the result of using the world’s calendar in order to integrate with the economic habits and commercial events during that period of the year. In absence of lunar calendar occasions, they already have others values such as costume, custom as their traditional identity while still intensively developing the economy.

In addition, some social values are believed were indispensable parts of a country cause they have been for generations becoming their instinct. As the result, minority of citizens realize these traditions have the sorely mental benefits while no issue with enhancing their living conditions, even declining the country’s economy. Therefore, people should abandon these habits for the improvement in living standard.

In conclusion, the majority of countries improving their living standard by raising the economy has advantages outweigh the drawbacks of losing some significant traditional values. Since the currently essential mission is the residents’ living, it is necessary to continue economic activities as the elimination of some prohibited values, even the long-standing cultures.