Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualification for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that good social skills are as crucial as qualifications to achieve success in a work, therefore employers should offer employment for individuals with good social skills. I completely agree with this notion because it prevents possible conflicts and encourages collaboration in the workplace.

To begin with, individuals who have good communication skills can prevent the possible issues in a workplace. For instance, workers who work in a adminstration or call centres should have good social skills, because they face different people during the work. If they interact politely, they can easily handle the problem. As a result, they can prevent the conflicts with good interaction skills. Hence, social skills are integral to succeed in a job.

Furthermore, having good social skills is important among the employees. When workers have good social skills, they learn how to work in a team without any problems. For instance, doctors work in a team through listening their co-workers or presenting their opinions during the surgeries. Consequently, they can cure ill people in a effective way. Therefore, only by acquiring good social skills can workers succeed in their jobs.

To sum up, having good social skills are as integral as having degrees and qualifications. In my view, when employers offer job for applicants, they should consider about workers’ social skills.