Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the revolutionized epoch, employers demand for various qualities in their new joiners. Competition in all the sectors is at the peak and employees need to go through various hiring steps. Nowadays many hiring professional’s emphasis on social skills and few individuals mention that social skills are essential with good qualifications. I agree with this notion and the reasons will be elucidated in the subsequent paragraphs.

Inaugurating with the primary reason, social skills are must in corporate sector. Group discussion is an important stage in the hiring process for multi-national companies. In group discussions a group of people sit together and share their thoughts on a particular topic. Hiring leader examine the group closely and accordingly select the person who performs the best among all. Moreover, educational qualifications are important to some extend but only till one gets their first job. If they want to get another job, interviews are scheduled and then social and speaking skills comes into picture.

Shifting attention to other reasons, most of the organizations deals with foreign clients and they need individuals who are fluent in their speaking skills. When employees go for foreign trips or when clients visit to their regional offices, only those individuals tend to put on long lasting impressions who are equipped with great social and managerial skills. In the appraisals when one-on-one meetings are schedules with the employee’s direct manager, at those times also social skills play a crucial part.

Agglomerating all the points discussed above, social skills are must with good qualification’s and I am in agreement with this notion.