Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualifications for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has long been a heated debate on the question of how to best spend concentration to yield the most desirable outcomes towards a professional career. It is believed by some that people should importantly prioritize the field of social skills in lieu of good qualifications. While this notion is not without its own certain compelling arguments, I would argue that workers should never neglect the importance of the task of focusing on good qualifications.

It is understandable why some advocate the idea that people should allocate more emphasis on social skills. The key rationale behind this viewpoint is that social skills could help workers have good relationships with their colleagues and managers at the workplace, which could support them to meet job requirements effectively. For example, good listening and speaking skills could allow employees to get credibility from their coworkers when it comes to solving problems with the department’s partnerships or stakeholders, which can also be crucial to receiving supportive instructions from their colleagues to achieve a career ladder smoothly. Another point worth mentioning is socially adept employees may have an advantage in jobs getting involved in customer service. For instance, in customer departments of all company businesses, good listening and empathizing skills were significantly mentioned in the requirements on the job description that the social skills of workers could satisfy their fastidious customers to enhance the service quality, which contributes to the business’s long run goals. Therefore, it is safe to say that the more employees focus on social skills and, by extension, interpersonal skills, the better outcomes of occupational opportunities would be, and thus we stand a better chance in stimulating career paths.

However, I am of the opinion that it would be unwise for people to discount the significance of good qualifications. As can be easily pointed out, most professional positions would inquire about talented candidates with technical skills and a high degree of knowledge. For example, medical doctors have to obtain professional certifications in training and apprenticeship, which is the minimum requirement for embarking on a career in the healthcare industry. Presumably, in some technical jobs, recruiters may give preference to those with a specific degree or diploma that demonstrates their high-quality experiences. Furthermore, in some highly skilled occupations, such as biologists or research, job success depends on cognitive capabilities, analytical research, and immense knowledge rather than social skills. This is a power testament to how workers should always make it a top priority to concentrate on good qualifications.

All things considered, it is my firm conviction that efforts from employees diverted into social skills do not necessarily have to be greater than the concentration on food qualifications. In fact, it serves the best interests of all when people strike a balance in emphasis on the two.