Most people believe that social media such as Facebook and Instagram negatively impact society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In this digital era, most of the individuals are addicted to social media platforms such as Instagram, Facebook, and YouTube, which can have detrimental issues on both society and individuals, as it affects their productivity, thus leading to a sedentary lifestyle. Hence, I agree to this statement, and the upcoming paragraph will argue and provide evidence to support my opinion.

First of all, social media apps are mainly imposed to ameliorate stress or depression, especially for workaholic individuals. However, if individuals use social media for prolonged time, it may welcome procrastination and often lead to sustain a sedentary lifestyle. As a ramification, it may increase the chance of health risks such as diabetics and obesity. For instance, a survey conducted by the University of Monash revealed that 85% of individuals are losing productivity and concentration due to overuse of digital communities. Ergo, it is advisable to restrict screen time in social platforms like Facebook and Instagram.

Additionally, digital media can cause grave issues in society, which may cause misunderstanding between individuals, thus creating tremendous problems. For exemplifying, social media platforms allow proliferation of false information, rumors, and news, which eventually mislead a large group of the community.

In conclusion, in my perspective, I strongly believe that social media apps such as Instagram and Facebook can create detrimental issues for individuals, which can affect their health. Moreover, it also misleads society due to spread of false information.