Most people believe that social media such as Facebook and Instagram negatively impact society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the technological era, digital platforms bring several advantages to many sectors of society. However, it is often argued that social media like Facebook or Instagram has detrimental effects on people’s lives and society. In my opinion, it improves communication and develops new business opportunities. In this passage, I will discuss my reasons with examples.

To begin with, over the past few decades, communication has become cheap and convenient due to the improvement of social media. The people who are living far from their families using Facebook can connect with them anytime. Furthermore, individuals are becoming more helpful and sensitive because they receive positive information and responses. For example, a few weeks ago an older citizen posted on Facebook for help, according to him, he received thousands of calls for help assistance.

In contrast, the wide-spreading use of social media E commenced boosting up steadily. Especially, for women, it created job opportunities before they abide by family responsibilities and no option to work from home since the development of E-commerce they can work from home as well as become independent. In addition, Facebook and Instagram play a significant role in creating awareness among people. An illustration, of the Bangladesh government, uses this platform to create social awareness about precautions before stepping into the heatwaves.

To conclude, in my point of view, although social media has some drawbacks, the advantages are several. This platform made our social life comfortable, increased our sense of responsibility as well as created employment opportunity.