Most societies are based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted, society could not function. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that if people’s behavior was not limited by law, the functioning of society would be impossible. I wholeheartedly agree with this point of view; I firmly believe that rules and restrictions are vital for society. The law controls and limits crime due to the system of punishment and provides safety for the most vulnerable categories of people in the face of global problems.

Firstly, without the law, crime level will increase. Without the fear of punishment, it will encourage individuals to commit crimes. For example, murders and robberies will rise and affect citizens to live in fear all the time. Therefore, in order to control and stop this behaviour, a system of restrictions and punishments should be placed, because it forces the criminal to weigh well the risks of his criminal actions.

Secondly, it is extremely important to have laws and regulations for a community to be safe in case of mass trouble such as pandemics. These acts are for the good and protection of the people. For example, without movement restriction during covid, the virus would have spread faster and old or poor health people would have died. Hence, the significance of rules can not be ignored.

To sum up, in my opinion rules and laws are obligatory for safe functioning of society due to thir ability to protect citizens from harmful incidents such as crimes or global issues.