Most societies are based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted, society could not function. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most societies have rules, regulations and laws which guide people in their everyday lifes. Some people even think that without rules societies can not function properly. In this essay, I will give my opinion on this matter and provide statements which support it.

First of all, let me fully agree with the statement in the first paragraph. Any group of people, especially large enough, would quickly turn into chaos once regulations and rules disappeared, which is shown a lot in literature, art, even music. To support this point, I would like to bring to your attention the book “The Lord of Flyes”. The author beautifully yet scary showed that __ society where all the rules disappeared instantly tends to destroy itself. This book is showing a society in a nutshell, with all its struggles _ and illustrate by that the original point.

Secondly, I would like to bring an example from history. It is well known that Hamurapi, the king of Babylon, has invented the first code, which included laws and regulations for the citizens of Babylon. Some historians think that if the code had not been brought to people, the kingdom itself would have disappeared in several years, which shows that without united, written and acceptable rules even great empires may fall. However, using those laws, the people of Babylon prospered for ages.

To conclude, many examples from the history of humanity and fictional literature shows that laws are important to society. If a society wants to remain in __ civilized and ordered way, rules and regulation are not just important, but crucial for its survival.