Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

Rapid civilisation has brought an immense number of changes to the present world, and many of them appeared to be unbearable for a multitude of people for different reasons and lead them to the circumstances when they do not have a place to call home. I firmly believe that supplying homeless people with money will not solve the deep-routed problems, which is, as a rule, way more serious than just lack of money.

To begin with, one must holistically take a look at the issue, since a multitude of individuals did not end up on the streets solely because they did not possess required amount of money to afford housing. In many cases, health problems, especially mental disorders, result in inability to work, and, consequently, not being able to provide for themselves. Therefore, chances are fairly low that obtaining a financial aid alone will sufficiently improve their situation, for example, people who struggle with alcoholism or narcotics more likely will spend this money on those psychoactive substances rather than on meal or clothes. This vivid example demonstrates that there is, obviously, something more serious lying in the core of the problem and those nuances definitely should be taken into account.

Personally speaking, I deem that providing comprehensive assistance for people without homes is the most sensible and efficient approach, rather than simply providing monetary support. Such comprehensive assistance should incorporate strategies aimed to deal with homelessness, namely, solving central issues that lead to mentioned condition. In essence, this may include offering medical aid, to figure out disorders that may contribute to inability to cope with reality and live autonomously, providing temporary accommodation and supplying those people with necessary items and food. I believe that these practices will definitely ease immense stress or suffering of homeless individuals, and, ideally, they will have time to overcome definite issues that hinder them, even though it is merely grief or anxiety. These vulnerable people will encounter affection and compassion, which is, undeniably, more than just materialistic things. for sure, will inevitably change their perception of the world and people, so they may start seeing the good in others and life in general.

In the light of the above, I can conclude that, although I understand why for many of us it is easier to help by offering money to people in dire circumstances, I still believe that the issue of homelessness necessitates a more nuanced and multifaceted approach.