Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

The number of destitute people without basic needs are increasing enormously in many communities. Certain people concur/opine that, by providing them financial stability is the most effective way to support them. I believe that this is not beneficial for the homeless individuals.

To begin with, offering money is not always a proper/viable solution in the long run. Firstly, these people do not have (are deprived of) the required resources to meet their basic necessicites such as food, shelter and clothes. Thus, the government shall assist these downtrodden individuals by building community shelters that saves them from dying. In addition to that, we could equip them with potential employment opportunities that enable them to earn an income to meet their daily needs. For example, we can provide skill training in some activities like paper bag making, pottery etc.

Moreover, there are chances that this could aggravate the issues by creating negative impacts. As such people living on the streets might misuse the economic aid that is given to support them. For instance, some are addicted to the usage of alcohol and drugs and they would use the funds to buy these illegal items. Also, it is not certain that these funds reach the hands of the needy people. Corrupt officials might exploit these funds and put the street dwellers into more misery.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree about allocating funds for homeless people in order to support because this is only a temporary relief and it could create detrimental effects than what we envisage.