Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

There are several societies with significant numbers of houseless people. As a solution to this problem, some opine the best option is to provide them money. Although this may aid some individuals, others may spend money unwisely. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with the above mentioned solution only to some extent.

Monetary help can help reduce the number of unhoused people in some communities as it will aid those without houses to afford accommodation for themselves. Moreover, if destitute individuals are provided with financial assistance constantly, they are able to rent apartments or rooms which can alleviate homelessness to a large degree. To illustrate, recently, in many American societies, many philanthropists supply money to people living in the streets which has enabled them rent apartments.

It is common for poor men and women to squander the money they received as help by making foolish decisions. Furthermore, people living in extreme poverty tend to give way to their strong fleeting urges of purchasing and consuming products that do not help them in long run and only gives rise to other serious problems. For instance, in countries like Nepal and India, when vagabonds receive some amount of money, they spend it on drugs and alcoholic beverages resulting in addiction and increased crime rates.

In conclusion, monetary aid can be a solution to alleviate homelessness in some societies however it depends on the people to whom money is provided. Therefore, I believe people or government bodies should make sure that the individuals to whom they are willing to provide financial help are wise spenders.