Most teenagers today own a smartphone. Provide your opinion to discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Due to advancements in technology, every day new gadgets are launched in the market. Therefore, the craze for owning such devices among children is increasing day by day. The upcoming paragraphs will discuss both the merits and demerits of mobile phone usage by youngsters.

To start with, the mobile phone keeps children up-to-date. It plays an important role in their daily activities. Therefore, they can take advantage of many applications, for example, YouTube and Course Hero, to complete their assignments on time. Furthermore, whenever they have some free time, they can easily watch their favorite movies in the comfort of their room. Apart from this, these gadgets help make notes and set up alarms and reminders for special events.

On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks to the usage of smartphones, such as children becoming couch potatoes because there is no physical activity left. They are glued to phone screens, and no social attraction is there either. Immense usage of such devices is detrimental to their health. For example, a renowned newspaper in Canada published a survey in which they provided details about several crimes committed by teenagers by watching crime series on Netflix.

To sum up, although technological gadgets are such a blessing, the bad effects of their unnecessary use cannot be neglected. Parents should set up specific time limits for children’s use of smartphones. In this way, there should be fewer crimes, and youngsters will be able to focus on their studies with full concentration and dedication.