Most teenagers today own a smartphone. Provide your opinion to discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is undeniable that the mobile has its advantages and disadvantages, as a large number of teenagers today possess a smartphone.

First, one of the biggest advantages of a smartphone is remaining connected to relatives or mates. Thanks to modern social media and messaging applications, communication is faster, and people can easily check how everyone is doing. This type of communication is helpful in keeping friendships and relationships intact, as well as ensuring safety.

In addition, smartphones help teenagers focus on schoolwork. They can use educational mobile applications, do research on the internet, and access different tools that would improve their knowledge and skills. Also, after being in school the whole day, middle schoolers can relax by listening to music or playing games on their mobile devices.

Nonetheless, there are some disadvantages of over dependent on smartphones. Among them is the distraction that these devices pose. The increasing use of social media and gaming can result in poor performance in academics for teenagers. Another concern is the impact of social media on mental well being; some teenagers may feel pressured to keep up with a certain image, or even get bullied through social media, which could lead to high levels of anxiety and low self-worth.

In addition to that, smartphones can interfere with one’s sleep schedule. Most teenagers like to browse their phones just before going to bed which can hinder sleep.