Most teenagers today own a smartphone. Provide your opinion to discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

The development of cutting edge technology at present day offered smartphones as the essential thing that every individual should have. Even the people at the teens age, which is considered not mature enough, have their personal mobile device. This condition leads to some positive and negative impacts for the teenagers’ lives.

There are two advantages for the teenagers by having their personal smartphone. As the technological device that is completed with an internet network, it makes the teens easily access much information through their gadget. The teenagers will easily get reference or information which is related to their study and will help them do their task. This is more saving-time rather than finding references from the library. Furthermore, it also offered them the feasibility to communicate with their friends and family directly. By having their private smartphone, they no longer need to borrow their parents phones if they want to communicate with their friends or relatives.

Apart from that, there are some disadvantages for the young generation by owning their private smartphone. The teenagers will tend to spend most of their leisure time scrolling their mobile device, which offers various interesting features, rather than doing some outdoor activity. For example, the social media apps, games, and other entertainment features lead them to be comfortable with their sedentary life. In addition, it also changes the way they interact with other people. Since the teenagers find many entertainment things from their device, they become less socialized physically with people surrounding them.

All in all, despite the benefits that teenagers can access information and communicate easily by having their own smartphone, there are some downside effects that must be concerned. Their private mobile phone will lead them to have an inactive lifestyle and become less socialized. I believed that parents should control and guide their teens in the way they use their own phone.