Music and art connect us with our past and help us understand who we are. While some people believe that these topics do not need to be taught in school, I believe they are an indispensable part of our education.

There are reasonable arguments for not teaching art and music in schools. Perhaps the biggest reason is limited resources. These subjects are simply too expensive for many schools as musical instruments and art supplies are often financially out of reach. Furthermore, other subjects are often seen as a priority within the crowded curriculum. Indeed, when it comes to future careers, maths and sciences are indispensable; there are many problems facing the world today, and analytical minds are needed to solve them.

However, learning about music and art connects us with our cultural history, which is essential for building strong societies. Whatever region someone comes from, there is an art form that defines the local culture and community. By learning about it, young people feel a sense of belonging, which can provide purpose and meaning. The more ingrained learning about local cultures is in education systems, the stronger societies will be.

Art and music also provide opportunities for young people to feel present and relaxed. Activities such as painting or singing help students free their minds of the stresses and anxieties that are common in a world driven by high-speed technology. With mental health issues mounting in many countries, the arts provide an outlet. This should not be limited to children whose parents have the means to provide them with a cultural education outside of school.

In conclusion, we cannot ignore the importance of the arts in helping to forge strong communities. If we want resilient young people who feel invested in society, we must ensure that they continue to receive an education in the arts.