Natural resources such as water, forests and oil, are being used at an excessive rate. What is the main cause of this problem? How can this issue be solved?

Consumer attitude toward natural resources such as water, woods, and fossil fuels has already led to the disastrous consequences humanity faces. The main cause may stem form careless usage of natural resources with the purpose of meeting people’s increasing demands, while the most viable solutions are enhancing public awareness about exhaustible natural resources, coupled with the implementation of higher taxes on these.

The underlying cause of resource depletion is evident. With the increasing population, we have surging needs in natural resources. Moreover, people tend to have more demanding behavioral patterns than they used to. This is to say, the principles of demand and supply does not work here because of the finite nature of these resources, that will end inevitably if the trend continues. For example, studies indicate that people use resources at alarming speed than they can be restored in the nearest future.

To efficiently address the issue of resource depletion, environmental movements may lead a campaign for students, explaining the importance of non-renewable resources and irrational consumption. The earlier they are instilled with this, the better knowledgeable they will be. Additionally, imposing higher taxes on both factories and citizens can serve as a warning against wasteful practices. Due to a bulk of processed timber and oil at plants, they may pay taxes for using excessive amounts of raw materials. On a personal level, increasing water taxes could lower usage beyond the norm. For example, Kazakhstan government has recently initiated a higher tax on water and oil production combat overconsumption.

To conclude, human activity and uncontrolled consumption are one of the reasons for the shortage of natural resources. To tackle this cause of the problem, the integration of raising awareness among the younger generation and imposing increased taxes can lead to ecological stability.