Natural resources such as water, forests and oil, are being used at an excessive rate. What is the main cause of this problem? How can this issue be solved?

Consumer’s attitude to the natural resources such as water, woods and fossil fuels has already led to the disastrous consequences humanity faces. The main cause may lie in careless usage of natural resources with the purpose of meeting people’s increasing demands, while the most viable solutions are raising awareness among population about exhaustible natural resources, done simultaneously with imposing higher taxes on these.

The cause seems to be easy to understand. With the increasing population, we have increasing needs. Moreover, people tend to have more demanding behavioral patterns than it used to be. This is to say, the law ‘demand and supply’ does not work here because of the resources that will end inevitably in case the trend continues. For example, it is estimated that people use resources speedier that they can restore in the nearest future.

To address this issue of source depletion, environmental movements may lead a campaign for students, explaining the importance of non-renewable resources and irrational consumption to instill this the earlier, the better knowledgeable they will be. Another solution may be imposing higher taxes on both factories and citizens. Due to a bulk of processing wood and oil at plants, they may plant more trees or look after animals or pay taxes for using excessive amount of raw materials. People can pay more as well because there is a tendency that we use more water than we need. For example, in Kazakhstan from 2023 a new higher tax on water and oil production was introduced by the government to combat this problem.

To conclude, human activity and uncontrolled consumption is one of the reasons for lack of natural resources. To tackle this problem, raising awareness among the younger generation will be beneficial as future contribution along with imposing a higher taxation on excessive usage.