New technologies have changed the way children spend free time. Do the advantages outweigh potential disadvantages?

Over the last few decades the emergence of new technologies have altered youngsters’s leisure time. In the following paragraphs, some of the major benefits of the situation will be discussed as well as drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are a number of advantages of using new technologies. One of the main positives of spending our free time with new technologies is that they can be educational aspects. What I mean by this is that there are many educational apps and online resources which assist to learn new skills. For instance, there are apps where child can be taught math or science by playing games which provide enjoyable and effective results. Another point worth noting is modern technologies allow kids to connect with their closers like with their family and friends. As an example, if offspring far away from his home or lost, he can find his parents by utilizing his gadgets, such as mobile phone or smart watch.

On the other hand, in spite of the fact that using new technologies have more advantages, it have main disadvantages. One of the major drawback of children spending their free time on new technologies is that it can cause some health problems. For example, when young generations are bored, they often take their laptops or consoles to play. As a result, sitting in front of the screen all time can lead to healthy problems, such as decreased vision and headaches that can occur during the entertainment. Moreover, giving gadgets for them can make teenagers addicted to it them. To give an example, computer addiction can become a bad habit that then children cannot imagine their studies and their lives without a computer. Furthermore, nowadays the gadgets such as, mobile phones and computers already in first in importance in the life of a teenager.

Taking everything into consideration, providing new technologies for youngsters has both positive and negative effects, therefore from my personal standpoint, it can be beneficial aspects for teaching children, but can lead to adverse consequences