Newspapers have influence on people's ideas and opinions. What are the reasons? Is it negative or positive development?

Many people believe that newspapers have an impact on individuals’ ideas and opinions. Although this influence has positive effects, it also has negative effects.

On the one hand, newspapers have an influence, as they are reliable sources of information. People always rely on newspapers rather than unverified social media sources because they are written in a formal style and tone. Many people do not fact-check news they read. For instance, no one checks what he or she has read again. Besides, gazettes are published news by selecting crucial and latest happened events. For example, if the government launches a new tax, most people read about this in the newspaper. Therefore, a large number of people read newspapers on a daily basis and they get to know daily news.

However, some newspapers have a negative effect on people’s behaviour. Some articles are highlighted only one-sided and they force people to think one-sidedly. Consequently, most individuals do not know the circumstances completely and make inaccurate decisions. Moreover, some newspapers can manipulate public’s opinion. They can guide people’s opinion by publishing articles or reports. As a result, people cannot make decisions by themselves objectively. Furthermore, some newspapers exaggerate some articles and this may attract people’s attention. As a consequence, people obtain inaccurate and overstated information.

In conclusion, newspapers have a huge number of positive effects on people’s behaviour, but some newspapers’ articles will contain overstated or inaccurate information and this may hinder critical thinking. Therefore, while newspapers inform people, their influence can also be harmful in several ways.