Now a lot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourage them to learn vocational skill (like plumbers and electricians). Do you agree or disagree?

A majority of the youngsters, nowadays, go for tertiary education. It is suggested by some people that they should go in for some vocational training to start earning soon. While vocational education has its own value, I firmly believe that university education has an edge over vocational education.

Undoubtedly, vocational education can be completed in much less time than college or university education. Therefore, young people can start earning money early and can become independent, and can afford their own house or start a family. Young people who decide to find work, rather than continue their studies, may progress more quickly. They have the chance to gain real experience and learn practical skills related to their chosen profession. This may lead to promotions and a successful career.

However, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in many professions. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having the relevant degree. Another advantage of graduating from a university is that it gives a person more choices when it comes to choosing a job. Most employers are more impressed by a candidate who has a degree than they would be by one who only has high school qualifications. University graduates also tend to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications.

Furthermore, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who do not have qualifications from a university or college are not able to compete. What is more, those who work in the construction work or as car mechanics will always have to work under those who have civil and mechanical engineering degrees.

To sum up, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more likely to be successful in their careers if they continue their studies beyond school level.