Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, people with health problems show more resistances for making a doctor appointment, and instead they relay on the treatments and medicines from the internet or other uncertified sources. I believe, this trend has detrimental effects, and therefore they cannot be considered as a treatment.

To begin with, health care is a specialized field, years of studying and training is obligatory to becoming a professional. Hence, for an unskilled individual trying to diagnose a disease and treating it, making mistakes and wrong decisions is significantly possible. In addition, dealing with health problems raise to some serious concerns. One of these concerns manifests itself when a problem is misdiagnosed and an unproper medicines are used to tackle the problem. While drags might be effective for a period, they might cover the main problem as well, and after a while the disease might show itself even in a more severe way.

Furthermore, most of people are unaware about the side effects that a treatment or a medicine might involve. By misinforming about these vital data, the situation of patient may become more complicated and the process of well-being takes more time and effort. For example, many people use painkillers most of time when they experience an unexpected pain. Painkillers for headache are widely used. However, a simple headache may have some underlaying causes which are not necessarily negligible. A headache could raise from a variety of reasons like a potential depression or even in more extreme situation a potential tumor. Not only painkillers do help in such a situation but they also lead us to unreversible condition.

In conclusion, although a growing number of people, instead of visiting a doctor, take a process of trial and error with variety of medicines and treatments as a solution for their health problems, I condemn this trend because of its possible consequences.