Nowadays air travel is cheaper than in the past. Is this a positive or a negative development? Discuss and give your own opinion.

In recent years, travelling by airplane relatively become more cost-effective compared to the past. In this essay, I will try to compare the advantages and disadvantages of this tendency, and finally decide whether it is positive or not.

On the one hand, there might be some drawbacks associated to the reduction of the airfare. To begin with, it is increased flights that are more likely to influence adversely on environment. The reason for this is that the more flight are performed, the more emissions are released directly to the atmosphere such as CO2. As an outcome, air pollution can be exacerbate in all around the world, which will cause the deterioration of the respiratory illnesses. Additionally, it can lead to over tourism. This will result in habitat loss, the destruction of natural places and the contamination of both sea and coastlines. Ultimately, the reduced prices of airlines will lead to some further ecological problems, which can be detrimental for both fauna and flora.

On the other hand, despite these disadvantages, it would be a mistake to underestimate the potential benefits of this change. Firstly, it allows people to cover a large amount of distance in a short time of period. Thus, air travel has become the more suitable option for everyone regardless of their income. As a result, even economically disadvantaged peoples can completely use this mode of transport thanks to the decline cost of airfare. Moreover, not only can the change allow low-income people to travel across the world, but it is also considered the safest transport in the planet. This is mainly because it is airlines that are thorough organized to provide the sufficient security for their users. Therefore, this change will be more sustainable means to travel worldwide in the future.

In conclusion, there are indeed some possible negative consequences of the reduction of airfare, especially related to environment. However, I firmly believe that this development can be considered positive as it provide a number of advantages such as allowing low-income individuals to travel and providing safer trip.