Nowadays, an increasing number of people choose to live a single life instead of getting married. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is more and more common for people to live a single life instead of getting married. Most people choose this lifestyle because of the enjoyment of freedom. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this phenomenon outweigh the advantages.

To begin with, the majority of crowds stay single because of the fear of restrictions on marriage. They propose that marriage would limit a person by stopping him from his free behaviours because married people need to take care of families. For example, a single youngster can arrange his time freely, such as drinking, hiking and hanging out. In contrast, a couple might have to take care of their kids in their spare time.

On the other hand, I disagree with their thought because there are several obvious benefits to having a legal spouse. Firstly, people in marriage can look after each other and share responsibilities. In modern society, citizens usually keep a certain social and relationship distance that results us feeling alone. Getting into a marriage can alleviate the dilemma because it encourages wives and husbands to love and sacrifice for each other. Furthermore, marriage also boosts the status of happiness. Secondly, the shortage of newborn lives might cause an ageing population that hazards civilization. An aging country might face some severe issues, like being short of labourers and taxes and overloaded pensions. The extremely ageing country may have the risk of extinction.

Overall, although keeping single can endow young people exerting their free will to enjoy their lives, they would have no chance to experience the delight of having a lover and kid and have to deal with all the trifles themselves. Finally, the popularity of this tendency may also undermine civilization because depopulation can lead a country to extinction.