Nowadays because of digital technology, it is possible for not only studios but also individuals to produce their films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that technological advances have enabled individuals to make their own films. I believe that this trend is a very positive one.

On an individual level, we need to factor in the viewing options that this development offers viewers. Previously, making films was a reserve for only film companies, and so film-lovers were restricted to a small pool of films on TV or in the cinema. Nowadays, the proliferation of sitcoms, short films and parodies made by amateur film producers on social media sites like Facebook and Youtube allows internet users to watch as much as they wish. In addition, the increasing popularity of these works can certainly be monetized in the form of advertising for certain products. This possibility encourages lots of people to dabble in acting and movie-directing.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note the fact that being allowed to make their own films, film creators can now express their creativity and ideas beyond conventional limits. As arts are largely subjective, this will be a step forward in the filmmaking industry. For example, with only an ipad and a simple movie editing software, 1977 Vlog, a group of young creative producers, made parodies of famous Vietnamese pieces of literature to voice their opinion about existing problems in their community. Despite being ridiculed based on the standards contemporarily applied in the film industry, their works have quickly gained popularity, challenged the status quo and completely revolutionized the way films are generally perceived and made.

In conclusion, the ability for individuals to make their own films has significantly increased entertainment choices and fostered creativity. Therefore, I believe this is a highly beneficial trend.