Nowadays because of digital technology, it is possible for not only studios but also individuals to produce their films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that technological advances in the film industry have made it possible for individuals to make their own films. I believe that this trend is a very positive one, as I will explain now.

Firstly, we need to factor in the viewing options that this trend offers viewers. When making films was a reserve for only film companies, film-lovers were restricted to several films on TV and had to go to the cinema to indulge their hobby. Nowadays, the proliferation of sitcoms, short films and parodies made by amateur film producers on social media sites like Facebook and Youtube means that anyone with an internet connection can watch as much as they wish. This also opens up new possibilities for young people who opt for a career in acting, as only few of those with exceptional acting skills could hope to make it in this career path only a decade ago.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note the fact that being allowed to make their own films, film creators now can express their creativity and ideas without limits and without being artistically judged by so-called professionals. As arts are purely subjective, this will be a step forward in the film making industry. This can be seen in the way many creative young movie producers, such as 1977 Vlog, or WongFu production posted their short films on Youtube and became famous, even though their works are unconventional and would be ridiculed based off of the standards that are still applied in the film industry.

In conclusion, the fact that individuals can now produce their own films is a welcome development as it benefits film-lovers, movie creators and the growth of the movie industry as a whole.