Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, it is not uncommon for teenagers spending more time to play computer games rather than the sport. While this trend may bring potential advantages, it can not be as significant as disadvantages.

To seen on a positive light, shift from sport to cyber sport can be beneficial development. For a start, by gaming, players can develop their brain’s cognitive function and critical thinking as well. To be more specific, in the games will be a number of scenes, conversation with characters about how to solve puzzle or how to complete mission. Assassin’s creed, or Prince of Persia take for an example, there were such kind of missions or challenges that I could not pass for about a week due to not understanding. Consequently, enhancing critical thinking and making brain sharp can be handy in most spheres and works.

Despite the positives mentioned above, there also possible dangers of sitting behind the screen for a long time. First and foremost, it can lead to some serious health issues such as obesity and weak eyesight. This is in light of the fact that, games are so attractive that gamer may not recognize the amount of spent time. And for not losing the potential and the game, they consume junk food, snacks and energetic which contain high level of calories. Not being active means that calories in body turn to the fat. Second drawback is, becoming isolated. High addiction to online plays may cut people from world. They sit in their room from morning to evening. They may not speak with someone let alone, doing extra activities. As a result of being isolated, they might face to psychological illnesses.

In conclusion, regardless of the benefits associated with video games, such as rise of critical thinking and brain’s function I reckon that the growing tendency among children to replace sports to play video games is an unfavorable change for the reason of predictable physical issues and mental well-being.