Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the hours the majority of children burning through online gaming is increasing. Although some factors, such as making a living as well as standing a chance for networking contribute to this case being positive, generally, it is seen negatively by most of the people, including myself, for its negative impacts.

To begin with the perspective of individuals advocating that it influences society positively. First and foremost, there are some individuals who make money by playing online games in order to cover their daily expenses, meaning that playing online games – cybersport – is a somehow job for them to earn money. For instance, a person who plays PUBG mobile every day can organize competitions and some kinds of challenges to win the prize. Moreover, many of the gamers allocate their time online, which means they play their games virtually by connecting with foreign players from all around the world. In online chats that take place in a game while teaming up, individuals date with other people, communicate with them as well as share their knowledge. This actively demonstrates that while communicating, individuals’ perspectives enhance. Gaming marathons can be taken as an example. In marathons, people play with many people, communicate and become acquainted with them; as a result, they will obtain different worldviews from different sources.

Nevertheless, according to my perspective, negative aspects of this case exist as trade-off occurs. Initially, the negative advent that playing computer games has on one’s vision is considerable. Gamers play at least 10 hours a day; thus, they need to be looking at the screen for a long time. This signifies that they will not be able to move their eyes, and were they not to focus on screen, they would miss the win. Furthermore, there is a possibility of being specialized in only one field by playing games without pauses every day; however, no one will guarantee that there will be a successful future of that game in the long run. For example, last year, a famous game company faced bankruptcy suddenly; however, there were millions of players of the game that company produced. As a result, many people lost their source of money.

In conclusion, although the modern perspectives indicate that it is a positive development in many parts of the society, I admittedly believe that this is more likely to be a negative case as it sheds light on negative impacts, such as the deterioration of eyesight as well as the high chance to become a player of obsolete games.