Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Technology has greatly influenced the lives of today’s children, they have increasingly grown dependent on video games, and television shows as their source of recreation. while some believe that technology has helped their children become more attentive and logical, others agree that it has severely affected their mental health. I believe that the latter is the case and I will highlight the reasons behind my agreement in this essay.

Video games and many television shows can promote violent and aggressive behaviour among children due to their special effects and action-packed plots. Most video games are designed in such a way that the character that has made the most number of kills in the match not only wins it but is applauded for the heroic act of displaying violence, this shapes the minds of the children who are in their growing years in the wrong way. It teaches them how to get away with the wrong things and normalizes violent behaviour.

As a result of spending large amounts of time in front of the television screen, most children are unable to process human emotions, television is a life-less device which can neither understand nor react like a human being. During the growing years of children, it is imperative for them to interact with other children of their age which will not only help them build better human bonds but also improve their emotional intelligence. The children will learn the importance of regulating their emotions, become aware of their surroundings and overall have a more fulfilling life.

To conclude, the invention of television and other technologies like video games has been a main source of entertainment for several people, however, the same should not be the case for children who are in their growing years as in most cases, over-dependence on such things takes place which has harmful effects on their mental health and well-being.