Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children, nowadays, watch TV and play video games for an extended period at a time. Some people think that a child’s mental health will not be affected positively because of it. I agree that an extended use of television and video games will not be an advantage to a child’s development.

Television use and video games are often used by children for a prolonged period of time. This is because television and video games can be addictive. The reason that they are so addictive is because they both contain a lot of content that children find fun and will continuously consume. For example, many television shows are long and usually contain a plot that is entertaining, which makes viewers want to continue watching. Additionally, most video games are made with a lot of interactive content that ensures a long play time. Both of these reasons make it so that children will spend long hours on them.

Extended use of television and video games is not beneficial for a child’s mental health. This is because most television and video games contain material that is not educational but is instead aimed to be as entertaining as possible, which leads to children becoming addicted and neglect their mental health. For example, most children ignore hunger cues and avoid showering just so that they can have more time to watch TV or play video games. The neglect of self-care can instill negative habits that can be detrimental to their mental health.

In conclusion, most children are spending a lot of time watching television and playing video games. Some people think that the time spent on television and video games will be negative for their mental health. I agree that prolonged television and video games will not be beneficial for the child’s mental health because TV and online games can become addictive because they are made to be entertaining. Because of this, children will spend a lot of time on them, which will cause them to ignore their body’s needs and can become negative habits in the future.