Nowadays eating habits of people around the world are changing, causing them many health problems including obesity. Why do people tend to eat so badly?

These days, a lot of people eat a very unhealthy diet, leading to several health-related issues such as obesity and diabetes. There are two primary reasons why this is the case, and it is important to take steps for improving people’s eating habits.

There are several factors behind people’s poor eating habits. The wide availability of unhealthy foods is perhaps the worst culprit. With fast-food restaurants on every corner, people can easily access unhealthy meals at a very low cost, compared to healthier options which are usually more expensive. The service at these restaurants is also very swift, which attracts even more customers who may be on a tight schedule. As a result, many workers who are only given about an hour for lunch break have no choice but to choose affordable yet unhealthy meals that take little time to be cooked.

To encourage people to eat healthily, a number of steps should be taken. The most effective solution could be to introduce a special tax on restaurants which sell unhealthy meals. If the cost of these foods were higher, people would be less attracted to eating them, and hopefully switch to healthier foods. The proceeds from this tax could be invested to further promote healthy eating habits, thus reducing the obesity rates and other problems connected to excess body weight. Moreover, government and private companies should consider extending the lunch break of their workers, which is currently not enough to enjoy a proper meal. Although costly, this initiative would help to enhance their health, making them more productive and less prone to take a sick leave.