Nowadays in many countries, young people do not communicate with old people as much as they used to. Why is this happening? How could this situation be improved?

In recent times, it has often been seen that young individuals tend not to communicate with senior citizens as much as they used to. While this issue is largely attributable to their different interests, it can be relieved with the organization of family and generational meetings.

The problem that youngsters do not talk with older people is primarily because of today’s generation gap, stemming from the advent of the internet. These different age groups do not share similar interests as while the elderly prefer conservative activities such as reading newspapers and gardening, tech-natives have a high propensity to be occupied with technology-related pastimes such as surfing the net, editing videos, and playing online games. Although, in the past, all people had the same hobbies and the same tasks, bridging the gap, in today’s fast-paced life, young people have contemporary digital tools that seniors do not have a profound understanding about it. Consequently, young people are highly likely to have an addiction to their phones and computers, thereby straining the relationship with their grandparents and reducing the time for communication.

However, there are some steps that can be taken to solve this difficulty. At an individual level, conducting family appointments might be the best choice. Family members can gather in one place without any permission to utilize distracting technological tools, and have a sincere talk with each other. Not only does this way help to strengthen bonds, but it also teaches young children to appreciate their forefathers. Organizing ‘3 generations meetings’ can be another effective approach to encourage youngsters to spend quality time with older people, who have well-rounded perspectives about life’s ups and downs. It should be the responsibility of governments to arrange such programs at schools and community centers, and individuals of both age groups have an opportunity to exchange ideas, resulting in aimed discussions between young and old people.

In conclusion, whereas the concern about little communication is attributed to technological devices and children’s reliance on them, I maintain that it can be improved through regular family meetings and the exchange of opinions