Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today’s world, international tourism plays the most important role in the global industry. While there might be some reasons to support the idea that international tourism contributes to conflicts, I believe that this industry fosters meaningful connections between people from various countries.

On the one hand, global integration creates a significant increase in tension between overseas visitors and local communities. A large number of foreign travelers may lack cultural understanding of different countries in every corner of the world, creating cultural and customs discrimination. For example, some Chinese YouTubers visited Viet Nam and thoughtlessly took some unreal videos to disparage this country, leading to substantial misunderstandings. Therefore, this phenomenon has led to a lot of profound controversies between Vietnamese and Chinese, decreasing the wonderful neighborly relationship.

On the other hand, the development of global tourism contributes significantly to the mutual understanding among communities around the globe. Unlike exploration through virtual platforms, physically traveling offers numerous authentic and unique experiences with local residents. Through a global visiting process to different countries, even remote areas, visitors can broaden their knowledge base. In particular, when tourists come to any country, they can learn more about new cultures, customs, and traditions from those countries. Therefore, international tourism creates global connections and brings people from various backgrounds closer than ever before.

In conclusion, while some maintain that in this day and age, exploring a new country yields a lot of tensions and conflicts, I maintain that globally visiting facilitates great bonds between visitors and local inhabitants. Therefore, authorities should invest more in the tourism industry in order to improve international relations.