Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people hold the opinion that while international tourism is one of the highest industries in the world’s life, individuals argue about the tension of people from different cultures on the other side. This essay will discuss this problem and present my own thoughts.

First and foremost, international tourism creates significant benefits to some countries, especially the national economy and culture. Because of the advanced development in the tourism industry, the international industry is the primary source of income, it brings a general enormous financial wealth to its own countries. Furthermore, the tourism promotion may facilitate travelers’ understanding more about the people and cultural background, to instill the love of their homeland into others’ mind.

On the negative side, the so-called industry also has detrimental effects. For some people who unfortunately had a bad experience in some countries, negative comments about the places may cause tremendous public outrage and prejudice against them, which causes the bad result and wrong cognizance to young generations. It is not mentioned that the introduction of some cultural traits is not appropriate for the locals. The youngsters tend to follow and imitate these trends to show off their fashionable lifestyle. Hence, there may be an effect on the foreign culture exposure of some people, losing the identity of myriad countries’ cultures.

In conclusion, while international tourism provides a lot of advantages for countries, there are some reasons that create tension between people from different countries. To my mind, the industry requires travelers to embracing cultural differences is key to establishing and maintaining social relationships in this day and age.