Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Credit cards have become one of the most popular payment methods these days thanks to their availability. However, some consumers are experiencing an unpleasant situation when they can not pay off their debts. This writing would argue that the drawbacks of credit cards totally outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, one advantage of credit cards is that customers are likely to have access to money easily. To be specific, people whose credit scores are high often have higher opportunities to obtain a loan from lenders. As a result, they can get closer to their financial goals if spent wisely. Another positive aspect of credit cards is that they can provide a supplement income between paychecks. If people who are in desperate need of purchasing necessary items are short of money, they can take advantage of credit cards to make financial transactions. Clearly, credit cards are a great source of money to bridge the gap between pay periods.

On the other hand, the benefits above pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Firstly, the cost of borrowing tends to be expensive. In more detail, most credit card companies charge high service fees in addition to penalties for late payments which could accrue interest over time. Thus, the interest rate of borrowing from credit cards is likely much higher than with a traditional loan. Moreover, many users seem to face a risk of bearing a financial burden if overspent frequently. If owners usually spend money irresponsibly, they will end up in a huge debt which may be unaffordable. Clearly, people can dig themselves into a financial hold because of spending unwisely.

In conclusion, the demerits of credit cards surpass their merits. Not only can people be deep in debt but also they may bear a heavy interest.