Nowadays, many companies allow their employees to work from home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, an increasing number of organizations have permitted working in remote locations. From a personal perspective, while this policy can bring several drawbacks, namely the distraction and the lack of connection with other individuals, I would argue that its benefits, including saving costs and promoting mental health, are of greater importance.

On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of working remotely. First of all, employees do not need to commute to work. Therefore, they do not have to deal with rush-hour traffic to make their way to the office, which may increase the stressful and time-wasting. In contrast, when turning their home into place of work, they can have more comfort time and reduce stress caused by road rage. For example, a huge number of workers in Hanoi often simultaneously travel to the office at around 8 a.m, which may create heavy traffic jam. Therefore, job holders need a lot of time and energy for commuting to companies on a daily basis. This can leading to reduce their job satisfaction and higher level of stress. Another positive development of this trend is that employers can cut costs to run their businesses. To develop their companies, they need to operating costs such as office rentals, maintenance, and so on. For this reason, when allowing workers work online, they can save a significant amount of money. These financial resources may be used for improving workers’ benefits and further developing the products. For instance, nowadays, some IT companies tend to recruit remote employees with lucrative income, who can finish all tasks like coding, signing contract or manage their systems by using online platforms. Consequently, organization owners can reduce operating costs and broaden range of human resources.

On the other hand, telecommuting also have some negative developments. One of these drawbacks is that employees usually easily get distracted due to difficulty in keeping home and work life completely separated. For example, workers with young children may be interrupted more frequently. To be more specific, these individuals have to divide their time to complete work tasks and take care their kids, which can result in failure to finish their missions and adversely affect the work-life balance. Moreover, working remotely can make employees face less contact with their colleagues. In fact, when working online, they cannot directly interact with co-workers, which may lead to experience breakdowns in communication. This drawback can negatively affect work performance and relationships among colleagues. By contrast, if all employees work together in the office, they can easily bounce ideas off others. This not only helps enhance workflow but also builds good friendships at work.

In conclusion, I believe that working from the comfort of home not only provides several upsides, including improving mental health for employees and optimizing financial resources for business owners, but also results in some downsides, regarding the lack of concentration and the difficulty in connecting with other individuals in the office.