Nowadays many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies or individuals or governments?

In the present age, private companies are the main subjects that fund medical research projects. In this essay, I will elucidate why I think this kind of projects should be mainly carried by governments, instead of private companies or individuals.

To begin with the main reason, which is the importance of these projects to society. To clarify, medical research projects might lead to significant changes in society if they succeed, such as finding a cure for a particular disease, and it is government’s duty improve the ell-being of its citizens, and this also includes their health conditions. In further clarification, by financially supporting these studies, governments can assist a founding of some disease that would alter the people’s lives for the better. For example, imagine someone suffering from a specific disease for several years, and the cure can be found by some researchers, but they do not have sufficient funds to carry out their medical project. Government has enough power and budget to support them, and save that person’s life, alongside many others.

Furthermore, although some people might assert that this kind of projects may be more independent in their actions if they are sponsored by individuals or private businesses, government is this the best option. Namely, it is not easy to find private companies to provide funds for these studies, because they mostly care about their own profits. In terms of individuals, their budget might be limited, compared to the governments and private companies. Therefore, the best choice is the support of governments.

In conclusion, I firmly, believe that the medical studies should be funded by governments, because they are the main subjects that serve the society, and the other potential funders’ budgets are relatively limited.