Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Medical industry is booming, and we have seen a significant advancement in the technologies that are being utilized by the hospitals. This might be because of the funding from big institutions as they donate money for conducting advance research for the better of humans. I believe there should be a balance.

Multinational companies are loaded with liquid money to monetary requirements. For instance, the Covid-19 medicine. Companies contributed to the initiative to develop a medicine that will fight the contagious coronavirus disease and saving lives of thousands of people. The Government supported the project and even distributed free doses to those who could not afford. Furthermore, the more the donations a company make for a good cause, the better its reputation and this is one of the major reasons for any organization to fund big initiatives.

However, projects supported by individuals and the authorities provides a tremendous help to the society. Take for example, Mr. Ratan Tata Sir. He has supported funding of many laboratory equipment’s to conduct research individually and brought medical treatment to a modern era which is more efficient and effective. Additionally, according to research, a student on his own is in process of developing an injection that will treat cancer and people would not have to go through painful chemotherapies.

In nutshell, independent organizations should be allowed to conduct research as they are able of providing huge chunks of money for bigger projects. While Government and capable individuals can also contribute in their own way and make this world a better place to live.