Nowadays men's sports are given far more attention by society compared to women's sports. What are the reasons for that? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern world, sports games played by men are gaining much more interest among the population rather than played by women. The following paragraphs discuss both causes of this and whether this trend has positive or negative impact on society’s improvement.

The main reason why the number of people watching sports programs displaying men athletes is greater than women athletes is a matter of visualization. Most people consider sportsmen with their muscles and toned body very attractive and charming, while appearance of sportswomen seems to be too manly and not aesthetic. This is because humans are used to feminine and tender imagery of women and this stereotype does not coincide with the strong and builded body of women in sports. Moreover, watching cruel and harsh kinds of sports, such as boxing and judo, done by women, is perceived negatively. For example, only two kinds of sports performed by females that attract the audience the most are figure skating and chess.

In my opinion, this trend in total can negatively influence the way that the society develops. Lessened interest and contribution in sportswomen and their career can automatically lead to the decrease in the number of women athletes, which will consequently result in the discrimination in this sphere. Moreover, people’s perception of women athletes that was formed many decades ago by stereotypical patriarchy, should be invalid, because sports is also a part of life that has to be equally valued by viewers. Women doing sports have to be appreciated and supported not for their body and external features but for their performance and talent. To illustrate, people who buy football matches’ tickets can also try to go to watch women football players and enjoy their favourite game.

In conclusion, women’s sports , considered to be non-aesthetic and less charming, are less favourable by the audience. The feeling of neglect may not have a positive effect, because a significant decrease in the amount of sportswomen could be observed in future.