Nowadays, more people move away from their friends and families for work. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, individuals are willing and have the ability to work far from their birthplaces. This is a great opportunity for them as well as for their families, which might have a lot of benefits as well as negative aspects. In this essay, the pros and cons will be discussed. However, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

First of all, migrating abroad is no longer considered a big deal. The main reason why people tend to move away from their hometown is due to the lucrative career opportunities. With the wider range of choices in the job market and better future prospects of making a successful career, people are more likely able to provide financial support to their family. Paying hospital bills, tuition fees for their younger siblings, and food is no longer a problem. For instance, the salary in your hometown may not be enough for even one month’s expenses, which leads us again to the thought of getting away from your family in search of a solution.

Moreover, with regard to their family and friends, it cannot be denied that working away can lead to the end and fading of friendships. However, I am persuaded that a truly strong bond between people is not easy to break even though you are separated. Obstacles can be overcome with respect and trust for each other. Cooperation and understanding the circumstances help a lot in those situations. In addition, technological progress provides people with a variety of services, in order to make phone calls or write messages, which significantly helps with long-distance communication.

Last but not least, the advantage is the professional growth that is easier to achieve in a healthy job market environment. Getting a higher salary will bring satisfaction and allow for saving for the future. Furthermore, this is also an opportunity to acquire new skills that can be used to help their region if the person decides to go back for good. For example, being an English teacher, I can start my own private school or take a regular government position, and with the help of the knowledge and skills gained abroad, I stand a greater chance to improve the education system.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In this generation, we need to be practical to be successful, even though the meaning of this is that a person needs to move away.