Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In the modern world, there is a tendency of students avoiding science subjects in several countries and lead to a shortage of graduates in this field. In this essay, I will illustrate some explanations of the problem and predict its negative outcomes on society.

To begin with, it is completely understandable when science majors in universities are losing their popularity in some part of the world. This is due to the fact that subjects related to science and technogy tend to be more challenging and demand greater efforts of learners. Meanwhile, there are other professions that is less difficult to study while offering the same degree and job opportunity. In addition, the teaching program is these countries may have not been well designed in order to nurture the fondness and curiosity of students in scientific areas. Due to a serious lack of practical exercises or real experiments, students may lose interest in science lectures and, hence, prefer subjects in other fields.

It is obvious that possible threats of this negative trend are catostrophic to the society. To be more specific, a decreasing number of students choosing science subjects will undoubtedly lead to an imbalance in the future workforce. There would be not enough engineers, doctors and scientists while workers graduated from social majors keep increasing. In the medium term, we may see a leap in the unemployment rate and at the same time, witness fewer employees applying in scientific and technological positions. To make matter worse, in the long run, production will be interupted and the society will see a total collapse in its operational process.

In conclusion, many countries witness a shortage of students choosing science subjects simply because there other less challenging choices and their teaching approach also fails to attract students into these areas. As a result, foreseeable impacts are an imbalanced allocation of human resource and, consequently, the malfunction of the whole society.