Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Parents are now demanding their children to become successful. In my opinion, this trend is largely driven by the fact that parents do not want to see their children experiencing hardship. While this may have some positive effects, I still remain convinced that it is a negative development.

One major reason for parents putting pressure on their children to become successful is, I believe, parents do not want their children to live a challenging life. This is because in the past, many people experienced hardships throughout their lives both financially and mentally. Low salaries and high taxes directly caused the way people lived in ancient times, which would simply mean that they earned less but spent more. Considering this, adults may not want their children to go through the same footprint and force their son and daughter to make the most of everything. For instance,Uzbekistan, would be a pertinent example. Hundreds and thousands of adults now encourage their children to go to extra classes, to acquire essential skills, along with learning foreign languages, which would then act as a deterrent to being unsuccessful.

While positive sides exist, I would argue that the negative ones far surpass. Pushing children may not always be beneficial. This is because if children are under pressure regularly, the likelihood of them having a significant drop in mental health and high stress would be higher. As a result, these kids may feel isolated and due to their health problems, they may even get less motivated to get something done. Take Italy as an example. As a result of putting so much pressure on children to become successful, these young people now feel a lack of external support and are occasionally unmotivated.

In conclusion, although several reasons exist, the primary reason for this is not to see children experiencing hard moments. While both positive and negative sides can be seen, this trend is largely negative as it may lead to greater diseases like mental health and high stress.