Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent years, there has been growing tendency for parents to place a strain on their children. I opine that there are several driving forces behind this situation. I believe that it has an impact on children’s well-being in a negative way.

To commence with, one of the main reasons for this phenomenon is a high competition in society. As a result of this , parents worry about their children’s career prosperity which is why they expect top academic results from them. They believe that top academic results are the only way to create good living conditions in the future such as acceptance to prestigious universities, well-paid jobs or achieving different accomplishments in terms of career during their life .Therefore, a huge number of parents consider that they have to put pressure to their children .

On the other hand, although this circumstance may drive children to work harder ,it runs the risk of their overall well-being such as exacerbation of mental health , rising stress and anxiety level. The primary reason of that over the time they may expand their most time to only study without any entertaining activities in view of excessive pressure. For example, since dedicating extended hours for only studying , they do not have any free time to engage with their hobby which may decrease their motivation. Thereby, more pressure is cited as the main key of health problems.

In conclusion, because of high competition parents put large pressure on their children. I firmly advocate that this situation has a detrimental influence in terms of health problems.