Nowadays people have expectations to get things instantly (news, products, services) and do not want to wait. Why? Positive or negative development?

In many contemporary societies, there has been a prevalent trend that the majority of the inhabitants wants to seek for instant gratification as they increasingly crave for immediate information, quick services alongside high-quality goods. In this essay, I will unearth the root causes of the transition and evaluate its consequential impact.

To commence with, there are two compelling rationales to explain what initiate the recent phenomenon. Foremost among these is the increased pace of life in many metropolises. As the modern society operates at such a fast pace, individuals have to adapt to the hustle and bustle environment and push themselves in order to fulfil their job or study responsibilities. Therefore, waiting for such things as news, commodities and services can be perceived as an act of wasting time and lead to an unnecessary delay. In addition, as more and more technologic breakthroughs emerged, information, commodities along with instant services become more accessible and therefore make individuals accustomed to those instant access, causing them to believe that everything is at their fingertips.

Concerning those aforementioned reasons, I opine that the trend yields more negative outcomes compared to the affirmative ones. Initially, prioritizing on instant results contributes to the lack of patience and therefore cause frustration on individuals who accustomed to instant accessibilities. In addition, this impatience can also cause many inhabitants to deteriorate in their abilities to deal with time pressure and cope with setbacks. Finally, the phenomenon can also potentially take away inhabitants’ perseverance which removes many of their opportunities to become successful in various aspects. As people increasingly have a lack of perseverance and determination, they lose their abilities to overcome challenges and accomplish time-taking tasks, hindering their own personal growth and future.

In conclusion, the trend is potentially caused by various factors in the modern world. Although being able to access to necessities may grant satisfaction, consumers should not neglect the drawbacks of the phenomenon.