Nowadays, the development of technology has allowed computers and mobiles to translate language automatically. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that there has been an ongoing trend towards the technological advance that has allowed computers and mobiles to have language translated automatically. While this has admittedly produced errors, I would contend that these are overshadowed by various distinct benefits including fast translation and support for diverse languages.

On the one hand, electronic translators may face some drawbacks. Chief among these is the potential for low accuracy in machine translations. This is because words often carry different meanings based on context, posing a significant challenge for automated translators, which are deprived of nuanced understanding of context that humans possess. Coupled with this is grammar which includes sentence patterns as well as different sets of rules, meaning that this linguistic feature can even complicate the issue. For example, a simple sentence in English consists of a subject, a verb, and often coupled with an object, yet not every language shares the same structure.

However, I am convinced that the idea of having language automatically translated by state-to-the-art tools may confer upon certain benefits in terms of speed and language variety. Regarding the former, the artificial translation machine is capable of transferring language capacity within minutes or even seconds, which means that it is considered as a functional tool for many time-limited conversations and brief summaries. With regard to the latter, despite producing minor grammar errors, those convenient high-tech softwares empower users to flexibly hold/navigate multiple languages whenever they are. A prime example is Google Translator, as it can constantly recognize and translate up to one hundred languages, thus making it widely utilized across the globe.

In conclusion, although machine translation software may produce less accurate texts, faster translation and flexibility of a wide range of language options it can offer are inevitably convenient. As such, I am of the opinion that this development, on the whole, is far more advantageous.