Nowadays, the development of technology has allowed computers and mobiles to translate language automatically. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that language can now be translated automatically by computers and mobile devices thanks to advances made in technology. I think that the benefits of this development outshine the drawbacks involved as automatic translators, despite possibly producing errors, can translate various languages in a short period of time.

The most obvious disadvantage of machine translation can be a lower level of accuracy. This is because there are thousands of words carrying different meanings based on the contexts in which the words are used, which is generally considered a major obstacle for robots since they cannot understand contexts compared to their human counterparts. Coupled with this is grammar which includes sentence patterns as well as different sets of rules, meaning that this linguistic feature can even complicate the issue. For example, a simple sentence in English consists of a subject, a verb, and often coupled with an object, yet not every language shares the same structure.

Nevertheless, I think that electronic translators can bring greater benefits in terms of speed and a variety of languages. Regarding the former, it is undeniable that computer programs can translate texts much faster than human translators, making the former a much better option when the time given is limited or when only an approximate or summary translation is needed. Concerning the second advantage, artificial intelligence software is capable of translating multiple languages. A prime example of this is Google Translate, as it can instantly recognise and translate up to one hundred languages, thereby being used basically throughout the entire world.

In conclusion, although machine translation software can produce less accurate texts, faster translation and the range of language options it can offer are undeniably convenient. As such, I am of the opinion that this development, on the whole, is far more advantageous.